Ethics - Equity - Experiences

NSQH 2024

The 7th Nordic Conference on Research in Patient Safety and Quality in Healthcare 2024 will be held 29th - 30th August in Oslo, Norway.

conference flyer.pdf


28. August 2024, 17.00–21.00​ (preconference - get together)  
29. August 2024, 09.00–17.00
30. August 2024, 09.00–15.00


Preconference site

Akershus University Hospital, Sykehusveien 25, Nordbyhagen

Map (

Conference site

Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Holbergs gate 30, 0166 Oslo, Norway (map:​.


Hotel rooms at the conference venue are prebooked at a discounted prize for the first early birds.

Alternative hotel rooms near the venue is also available at registration for the first 20 early birds.

Innlosjeringer (


You are hereby invited to participate in the 2024 Nordic conference on research in patient safety and quality in healthcare in Oslo 29th - 30th August 2024. 
The conference is organized by the Nordic Research Network for Safety and Quality in Healthcare  - NSQH, in collaboration with Akershus University Hospital.
The conference brings together Nordic and international researchers, health care professionals and other practitioners in the field.

Abstracts and workshop proposals

We welcome abstracts that can be selected for oral presentations or poster presentation. We also welcome workshop proposals.

Submit your abstract here:

Deadline: 2nd of May 2024.  

Guidelines and review criteria (

Guiding concepts

The 2024 NSQH conference will address current research and future ethical dilemmas regarding patient safety in healthcare and how to promote equity.
Ethics - Equity - Experiences will be the guiding concepts. 
We invite you to participate, learn from others, exchange experiences and share your own research. 
We hope to see you in Oslo!

  • Abstract submission and conference registration opens January 1st.
  • The abstract submission deadline is April 24th.
  • Notification of acceptance of abstract and workshop June 5th.
  • Early Bird registration before June 16th.
  • Preliminary program will be ready in June and the final program in July.
  • Pre Conference seminar – Get Together  August 28th.

Register for the Conference here (

​Early bird registration before: June 16th.

Early bird: 5700 NOK

Regular: 6950 NOK​

  Submit your abstract here: Abstract portal (

Keynote speakers

  • ​David ​​W. Bates - MD, MSc

    Dr. David W. Bates is the Chief of the Division of General Internal Medicine and Primary Care at Brigham and Women's Hospital and is the Medical Director of Clinical and Quality Analysis in Information Systems at Mass General Brigham. He is a Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Professor of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard School of Public Health, where he is the Co-Director of the Program in Clinical Effectiveness. He is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and edits the ​Journal of Patient Safety​.

    David Bates
    Dr. David W. Bates


  • ​Siri Wiig - PhD, MSc​

    Dr. Siri Wiig is Centre Director at SHARE - Centre for Resilience in Healthcare, at the University of Stavanger (UiS), Norway. The SHARE centre is the largest research group in Norway doing research on quality and safety in healthcare. Wiig is full Professor of Quality and Safety in Healthcare Systems at the Faculty of Health Sciences, UiS. Key research interests are resilience in healthcare, patient safety, quality improvement, safety investigations, user involvement, risk regulation, leadership, and learning in socio-technical systems.​

    Siri Wiig
    Dr. Siri Wiig


  • Stig Harthug - MD, PhD​​

    Dr. Stig Harthug is professor of medicine at University of Bergen, and was until recently in charge of The Patient Safety Unit at Haukeland University Hospital. He was former Chair of The Reference Group for the Norwegian Patient Safety Campaign. Implementation of safe surgery has been his most important topic in research that comprises more than 80 scientific papers.​


  • Rebecca Lawton

    Rebecca Lawton is Professor in Psychology of Healthcare at University of Leeds, UK. She is also Director of the NIHR funded Yorkshire and Humber Patient Safety Research Collaboration as a behavioural scientist, Rebecca has a particular interest in the emotional, cognitive and behavioural factors that underpin safe care and the local and system level cultures, environments and processes that influence these.

    En kvinne med langt hår
    Rebecca Lawton



  • Improving safety cultures
  • Learning from measurements, experiences, and root cause analysis
  • How to reduce risks in clinical pathways
  • Building resilience into the health care system
  • Balancing quality, economy, and equity
  • Choosing wisely
  • Regulation and policy
  • Health informatics and technology
  • Training and education
  • Co-creating care with service users
  • Leadership, logistics and work environment
  • Surgical safety
  • Other

Preconference get together: Results of Quality Improvement in Practice - "the Ahus Experience"

When: 28th August from 5:00 PM to 9:00 PM.

Where: Akershus University Hospital (Ahus), Main auditorium and Canteen.

  • See how Akershus University Hospital has implemented improvement science theory into practice.
  • Meet other conference participants over a meal.
  • Discuss implementation experiences with staff from Akershus University Hospital

Participant fee for the Get Together is NOK 600 and includes bus transportation, an aperitif, tapas buffet and non-alcolohic beverages.

Organized Bus

The NSQH 2024 conference organizes bus transport from the Conference hotel to Akershus University Hospital.

  • The bus leaves at 4:15 PM.
  • Bus transport back to the Conference hotel leaves from Akershus University Hospital at 9:00 PM.

By Public Transportation

If you wish to take public transportation Ahus instead of the organized bus, the easiest route is bus 300 from either Oslo bussterminal (Bus Terminal) or Bjørvika in downtown Oslo. Use, available as an app, to see departures and maps.  

More information about the event

  • Henning Boje Andersen, Nordic network chair
  • Ellen Tveter Deilkås
  • Anne Mette Falstie-Jensen
  • Karin Pukk-Harenstam
  • Kaisa Haatainen
  • Sanna-Maria Kivuori
  • Morag Tolvi
  • Axel Ros
  • Siri Wiig

Read more about the network


Sist oppdatert 26.04.2024